I Don’t Want the World To See Me

And I don’t want the world to see me, ’cause I don’t think that they’d understand”

Sunday afternoon. July 25. 2010.

Scene: Me: In the sunroom; working on my laptop. Husband: Upstairs.
Son: Laying on the family room floor….napping. Noise level: None, whatsoever.

No one else in the house.

Son: “Hey Mom, why’d you do that?”

Me: “Do what?”

Son: “Bop me upside the head, like this” (He taps his head softly, but firmly as a demonstration)

Me: “I didn’t touch you!”

Son: “Yes, you did!” “Something woke me up”

Me: silence.

“Everything’s meant to be broken”

Only three people in the house. My husband upstairs, me in the sunroom, and my son on the family room floor.

I then remember: My sister used to playfully “bop him upside the head”

“I just want you to know who I am”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

