A Long December

A long December and there’s reason to believe
Maybe this year will be better than the last”

Hate.

This is a word that I do not take lightly. In fact, I try to treat the word as if it costs five dollars per utterance.

That being said… here’s my hundred dollars up front. And if my calculations are correct, this should buy me at least twenty instances of the venomous word. Here comes one now:

I hate December.

For reasons that would take far too long to mention, I can honestly say that my hatred of December began long before my sister died. The love actually began fading sometime during my pre-teen years and turned into full blown hatred as I grew into adulthood. Many times, I tried to give December a chance; to allow it to change my mind; but it relentlessly continued to bring in its cold winds, ice, snow, sadness and confusion; believing that it could trick me into happiness by packaging it all up in a pseudo-festive atmosphere of bright lights and good will…and let’s not forget a little dash of “Jesus” thrown in for the ultimate in guilt and “Divine” endorsement. Well, I didn’t buy it then…and I sure ain’t buying it now!

“I can’t remember the last thing that you said as you were leaving”

December, let’s just you and me have a little chat. I spent most of the 2009 version of you and your pitiful self in the hospital with my dying sister. You even had the nerve to throw in a vicious Winter storm that dumped out a foot of snow! Thanks to you, we were unable to visit her for two excrutiatingly long days. Thanks to you, those were two of the worst days of my life!

“The smell of hospitals in winter
And the feeling that it’s all a lot of oysters, but no pearls”

I hate you December…You and your two-faced friend January.

Easy for me to say…in the heat of summer…on a June 22, 2010 afternoon.

On this day, I say it to you behind your back.

When you come back ’round again…it will feel good to tell you to your face.

I refuse to be your prisoner any longer.

“It’s been so long since I’ve seen the ocean
I guess I should…”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

